Posted: 03 Nov 2011 | Channels: Sport

Britain’s Sports Stars Celebrate Our Local Sporting Champions At UK Sports Awards 2011

The Daily Telegraph School Sport Matters Awards, supported by Aviva, aim to recognise the fantastic achievements in school sport over the last school year, and are an opportunity to further celebrate sport and athletics at all levels in the UK.

Contribution to school sport

  • Winner: John Duggan (teacher), Lancaster School and Sports College, Leicester
  • Highly Commended: Bee Morgan (pupil), Devonport High School, Plymouth
  • Commended: Junaid Tariq (pupil), Hillcrest School and Community College, Dudley

State school of the year

  • Winner: Whitchurch High School, Cardiff
  • Highly Commended: Hodge Hill Girls School, Birmingham
  • Commended: Lancaster Royal Grammar School, Leicester

Independent school of the year

  • Winner: Whitgift School
  • Highly Commended: Rugby School
  • Commended: Sedbergh School

Female student of the year

  • Winner: Zoe Smith, Townley Grammar School for Girls, Kent
  • Highly Commended: Desiree Henry, St Anne's Catholic High School for Girls, London
  • Commended: Hannah Baughn, St Ignatius Catholic Primary School, Middlesex

Male student of the year

  • Winner: Dominic Sibley, Whitgift School, London
  • Highly Commended: Sean McGoldrick, Duffryn High School, Newport
  • Commended: Reece Topley, Royal Hospital School, Suffolk

Primary school of the year

  • Winner: Upton Junior School, Kent
  • Highly Commended: Osmaston Primary School, Derbyshire
  • Commended: Our Lady's Primary School, Manchester

School sport teacher of the year

  • Winner: Alan Watkinson, Isleworth and Syon School, Middlesex
  • Highly Commended: Alan Bradshaw, Ecclesbourne School, Derbyshire
  • Commended: John Johnson, Wolverhampton Grammar School

School team of the year

  • Winner: U14s Basketball Team, St Angela's Ursuline School, London
  • Highly Commended: Bromsgrove Prep School Rugby First XV, Worcestershire
  • Commended: Plymouth College Swimming Team, Plymouth

Specialist sports college of the year

  • Winner: Barking Abbey School, Essex
  • Highly Commended: Park House School and Sports College, Berkshire;
  • Commended: The Lancaster School, Leicester

Excellence in disabled sport

  • Winner: Rhys Jones, St John's Baptist School, Aberdare
  • Highly Commended: Jack Wiskin, Larkrise Special School, Trowbridge
  • Commended: Felicity Martin, Kings Grove School, Crewe

Aviva Unsung hero

  • Winner: Assunta DeBiase (teacher), The Woodside School, London
  • Highly Commended: Lily Lewis (pupil), Fairways, Leigh–on–Sea
  • Commended: Paris Bowers (pupil), Drapers Academy, Romford